AASD Awarded $767,207 School Safety Grant
Posted on 06/21/2018
Today, the AASD hosted Attorney General Brad Schimel and thirteen other districts that have been awarded grants through the Wisconsin Department of Justice School Safety Grant program, administered by DOJ’s Office of School Safety. Combined, the 14 schools and school districts will receive $1,788,609 which will be spent on building safety improvements, as well as training for faculty and staff.

The ceremony was held at Highlands Elementary, which is currently undergoing significant remodeling efforts including improving building entrance control and relocating the main office as a result of our own local community’s tremendous ongoing support and investment in safety and security measures throughout our district.

We are so grateful to the Wisconsin Department of Justice for awarding our district this school safety grant. It will allow us to continue making improvements in the overall security of our district’s thirty-four schools, specifically in our ability to delay and/or detect threats through primary and advanced security measures, as well as to provide additional staff training and support. 

Our goal is to find a proper balance between creating schools that are safe and secure while also maintaining an inclusive and caring environment where students, staff, parents and community members feel welcome at our schools.

This grant will be a tremendous help to ensure that we are doing everything that we can to keep our learners safe each day across our district.

Safety Grant Ceremony

Following is a list of schools and school districts that have been awarded school safety grants.

Appleton Area School District, $767,207
D.C. Everest Area School District, $239,975
Unified School District of De Pere, $62,200
Howards Grove School District, $66,757
Lena School District, $61,720
Menasha Joint School District, $164,600
Mishicot School District, $63,090
Muskego-Norway School District, $33,659
Phelps School District, $23,107
Saint Peter Catholic School, $20,000
Sturgeon Bay School District, $103,93o
Waupun Area School District, $99,979
Winter School District, $62,385
Waupaca Christian Academy, $20,000
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.