2023 Herb Kohl Recognized AASD Students & Teachers

2023 Herb Kohl Recognized AASD Students & Teachers
Posted on 04/12/2023
We are so proud to have two students and two teachers recognized this year by the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation. The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation was created in 1990 to recognize Wisconsin students, teachers and schools with grants to support educational achievement. Since inception, the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation has awarded nearly $18.5 million in grants and scholarships to more than 7,670 people.  

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation annually awards its $10,000 Initiative Scholarship to 100 graduating high school students in public, religious, and independent schools throughout Wisconsin. The intent of the Initiative Scholarship is to recognize students who are putting forth the extraordinary effort to do their best in the classroom and have overcome significant obstacles or adversity but whose class rank is likely to make them ineligible for academic scholarships. Recipients are selected by their teachers and school administrators. 

2023 AASD Student Initiative Scholars

Ezra Brown
Appleton West High School

Basmallah Salahat
Wisconsin Connections Academy

The Kohl Teacher Fellowship program recognizes and supports teaching excellence and innovation in the state of Wisconsin, USA. Our goal is to support Wisconsin teachers who were nominated for their leadership and service in and outside the classroom, their ability to inspire a love of learning and to motivate their students in the pursuit of their unrealized goals for their classrooms or professional development.

2023 AASD Teacher Fellows
Brianna Weyers, 4th Grade Teacher at Richmond Elementary, Richmond Summer School Coordinator, PBIS Internal Site Coordinator, and a Classroom Management Coach
Rebecca Whittle, ELA/History Teacher, Yearbook Advisor, Teacher Mentor, Link Crew Advisor, and Drama Club Advisor at Appleton West High School

The 100 Herb Kohl Fellowship recipients and the 100 Wisconsin schools of those teachers will each receive a $6,000 grant.