AASD Principal Named Principal of the Year

AASD Principal Named Principal of the Year
Posted on 04/05/2024
The Association of Wisconsin School Administrators (AWSA) has named Kari Krueger as its 2024 Elementary School Principal of the Year. 

Krueger is the principal of Highlands Elementary School and Odyssey Magnet School in the Appleton Area School District, where she has served for four years after spending two years as assistant principal. During her time in leadership at Highlands Elementary and Odyssey Magnet School, she has dedicated herself to creating a strong culture of diversity and inclusivity. 

During her tenure, Krueger cultivated a robust school culture centered on student achievement and support, while working actively to bridge the gap between home and school. As a result of her efforts, Highlands experienced an increase in its growth score on the Wisconsin School Report Card.

To positively influence school culture and student achievement, Krueger committed to include student, parent, and community voices in critical conversations and decisions. As part of this initiative, she enhanced Highland’s Positive Behavior Intervention and Support team by adding parent representatives. Parent representatives identified areas for improvement in regard to rewarding positive student behavior, directly impacting the school’s culture. 

In addition, Krueger made special efforts to meet with students, taking their input and using their recommendations to clarify, refine, and improve the school’s behavioral expectations.

Dr. Nan Bunnow, Assistant Superintendent of the Appleton Area School District (AASD), says that Krueger is “a talented, dedicated educator who focuses on continuous school improvement. She is an instructional leader who values diversity and works tirelessly to provide equitable, high-quality learning opportunities for all students.” She continues, “It’s fitting that Kari be recognized as the 2024 Wisconsin Elementary School Principal of the Year for her unwavering dedication, steadfast support, and the profound impact she has had on the Highlands/Odyssey school communities and the AASD.”

“From all of us at AWSA, I would like to extend my congratulations to Kari Krueger for being named the 2024 Elementary Principal of the Year,” said Jim Lynch, executive director of AWSA. “She truly leads by example, embodying the principles she strives to instill in her students, staff members, and community. Through her actions, she demonstrates a commitment to continual learning, growth, and fostering a positive culture of improvement.” 

Krueger holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and special education from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. She also holds an educational leadership certification, also from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. Earlier in her career, she was a special education teacher.

Supported by the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation, the Principal of the Year award recognizes school leaders who have helped drive student learning, foster instructional collaboration, and create safe and positive school environments. Recipients are selected based on their dedication to professional excellence, leadership skills, and service to their communities. The Wisconsin Elementary School Principal of the Year is selected from the Kohl Leadership Award Recipients. 
Each year, teachers, parents, staff, and administrators are asked to nominate principals for the award. The recipients are selected by a committee made up of representatives of parents, and classroom, school, and district leaders.